E-car delivery times - You can count on this

  - •  

  - •  

Reading time: 6 Minutes
Delivery times of e-cars Contribution picture

Why are delivery times for electric cars so long? Electric cars are becoming increasingly popular. According to a survey by Statista, more than half of all Germans can imagine buying an electric vehicle in the next few years.Furthermore, registrations have also risen considerably in the last two years. From just under 36,000 in 2018 to 267,000 in the period from January to October 2021. However, many will have noticed that it is not at all easy to get hold of an electric car quickly. Obviously, the demand cannot be met directly. The fleet manager Stefan Jacob from SachsenEnergie was happy to answer our questions on the subject of delivery times for electric cars and was able to help us with his expertise. We explain how the current electric car delivery times come about and what waiting time you should expect for the various e-car models.

Delivery times E-car

Stefan Jacob, Fleet Manager at SachsenEnergie

CURRENT DELIVERY TIMES FOR ELECTRIC CARS - HOW LONG DO YOU HAVE TO WAIT?

For an overview of e-car delivery times, we have compiled the current delivery times of the various models for you. The range is very wide. From 2 months for the Tesla Model Y to 12-15 months for the Audi Q4 e-tron. As a result, the decision as to which model you end up with is not only dependent on the car itself, but can also be influenced by the delivery time, depending on your own needs.

Overview of current e-car delivery times of various models via Carwow:

Delivery times for electric cars

Model Delivery time Offers from
Tesla Model 3 3-4 months 36.970 €
VW ID.3 9-12 months 21.925 €
Polestar 2 3-4 months 36.930 €
KIA EV6 10 months 31.466 €
Renault ZOE 6 months 18.210 €
Cupra Born 3 months 28.127 €
pel Corsa-e 4 months 18.324 €
VW ID.4 10-12 months 27.581 €
VW ID.4 GTX 10-12 months 42.380 €
Dacia Spring 9 months 11.569 €
Hyundai Ioniq 5 6-8 months 30.706 €
Skoda Enyaq iV 7-9 months 22.376 €
Hyundai Kona
Electric
4-6 months 22.863 €
Renault Twingo
Electric
6 months 12.985 €
Opel Mokka-e 4 months 23.333 €
Tesla Model S 7-8 months 97.970 €
Tesla Model X 12 months 106.970 €
Tesla Model Y/td> 7-8 months 52.970 €
BMW i3 4 months 24.379 €
BMW i4 8 months 44.079 €
BMW i4 M50 10 months 53.256 €
BMW iX 8 months 69.692 €
BMW iX3 8 months 50.396 €
Mercedes-Benz EQA 8 months -
Mercedes-Benz EQB 2 months -
Audi Q4 e-tron 7 months 27.329 €
Audi Q4
Sportback e-tron
7 months 29.049
Ford Mustang
Mach-E
7-8 months 38.020 €
smart EQ fortwo 8-9 months 11.324 €
MINI Cooper
SE 3-door
8 months 20.989 €
KIA e-Niro 10 months 22.588 €
Peugeot e-208 3 months 20.683 €
Citroen e-Berlingo 4.5 months 29.702 €
Citroen e-C4 5 months 24.689 €
Hyundai
IONIQ Electric
4-6 months 23.200 €
Honda e 5-6 months 24.423 €
Kia e-Soul 10 months 21.431 €
Peugeot e-2008 4 months 25.452 €
Audi e-tron 5 months 51.062 €
Audi e-tron S 5 months 72.234 €
Audi e-tron S
Sportback
5 months 74.042 €
Mercedes EQC 11 months -
Audi e-tron Sportback 5 months 52.954 €
Audi e-tron GT 8 months 88.759 €
Audi RS e-tron GT 8 months 119.840 €
Jaguar I-Pace 4 months 59.091 €
Porsche Taycan 3 months 76.851 €
Porsche Taycan
Cross Turismo/td>
3 months 86.797 €
Mazda MX-30 4-5 months 22.831 €
Nissan Leaf 6 months 19.169 €
Fiat 500 Electric 3 months 14.173 €
Opel Zafira-e Life 4 months 34.688 €
Opel Combo-e Life 6 months 24.497 €
Citroen
e-SpaceTourer
5 months 37.127 €
Citroen
e-Jumpy estate
4 months 35.684 €
Toyota ProaceElectric 5-6 months 32.218 €
Toyota Proace Verso
Electric
5-6 months 50.564 €
Peugeot e-Rifter 5.5 months 25.151 €
Peugeot e-Traveller 4.5 months 37.193 €
Peugeot e-Expert
Box van
7 months 28.572 €
Peugeot
e-Expert estate
4 months 34.242 €
DS 3 Crossback
Electric
5 months 28.878 €
smart EQ fortwo
Convertible
8-9 months 14.356 €
smart EQ forfour Not available for order 11.938 €
Renault Kangoo Z.E. 6 months 22.583 €
Fiat E-Ducato
Box van
5 months 50.703 €
Fiat E-Ducato Station Wagon 5 months 51.836 €
Mercedes-Benz EQV 5 months -
Mercedes-Benz
eVito Tourer
5 months -
Mercedes-Benz EQS Not specified -
VW e-Crafter
Box van
5 months 43.896 €
Volvo XC40 Recharge
Pure Electric
5 months
(front-wheel drive)
7 months
(all-wheel drive)
-
Volvo C40 Recharge 5 months -
VW e-up! Not available for order -
SEAT Mii electric Not available for order -
Skoda CITIGOe iV Not available for order -
VW e-Golf Not available for order -
Citroen C-Zero Not available for order -
Peugeot iOn Not available for order -

Source: Carwow (as of 16.12.2021)

Consequently, a good six months is currently the rule rather than the exception when it comes to delivery times for e-cars. Why is that?

Causes for the long delivery times

There are three main reasons for the long delivery time: the Corona pandemic, global chip shortages and insufficient production resources. Due to the pandemic, capacities have been reduced in almost all areas, which has affected supply chains. For example, the supply of parts and battery components is more difficult than usual. Another reason is the global chip shortage. Here, too, capacities have been reduced rather than increased by the pandemic situation. Meanwhile, demand for devices that require microchips is higher than ever. The increased demand for electric cars plays a big role here, but not the only one. Consumer electronics, medical technology and communication technology, such as to convert companies to home offices, are also driving forces. The automotive industry also has its problems with the high demand. The stimulus packages are working excellently, but unfortunately a quick ramp-up of production lines has not been possible to the extent needed. So the long delivery times are not due to a single problem. Rather, they are the result of several different causes from different areas. But are there ways you can still get your hands on a new e-car in the short term?

"A common misconception is that not enough production lines have been converted to e-mobility. However, the production of e-vehicles partly runs on the same assembly lines as that of combustion engines. In other words, there is a general lack of production resources. Even we as a major customer don't get any specific information about the delivery delays from our vehicle dealers."

Stefan Jacob

This is how you can still get a new e-car at short notice

There are a few ways you can still get your hands on a new e-car. Not every model suffers from long e-car delivery times. The following models are available in less than 3 months:

 

Cupra Born: 3 months

Opel Mokka-e: 3 months

Peugeot e-208: 3 months

Peugeot e-2008: 3 months

Porsche Taycan: 3 months

Porsche Taycan Cross Turismo: 3 months

Tesla Model Y: 2 months

 

Still a long wait when you finally want to drive your new electric car, but definitely bearable. If you consider a waiting time of 6 months acceptable, you even have a choice of over half of all models. If you have another model in mind or want to shorten the waiting time further, it's worth doing some research. Many suppliers have stocks of pre-configured vehicles in store or special leasing quotas where you could find what you are looking for. As long as your ideas for the equipment are not too specific, you may be lucky. So you could also become the owner of an electric car within a few days/weeks. There is also the e-car subscription, an alternative that not everyone knows about. Similar to leasing, you are not the actual owner of the electric car, but you can use it for a fee. However, there is no down payment or residual value compensation. In addition, it is much more flexible than leasing; many subscriptions can be taken out spontaneously and cancelled monthly. If an e-car subscription is not a long-term alternative for you, it can still help you to bridge the waiting time for your desired model.

"Currently, there is no improvement in sight regarding delivery times for electric cars. The switch to other models is not so easy for our company, on the one hand because of medium-term supply agreements and on the other hand because of the (non-)suitability of certain models for the corresponding purpose.

Stefan Jacob

CONCLUSION E-car delivery times: no return to normality in sight

The current delivery times for electric cars are long. Six months and more are the rule rather than the exception. While these long waiting times are due to understandable problems, you can still get around them with a few tricks from us. Even if one of the three main reasons improves, experts estimate that the chip shortage will last at least until 2022, maybe longer. So it's impossible to predict exactly when delivery times for the electric car will return to normal. You should not let this slow down your enthusiasm for electric mobility.

If you are interested, please make use of the possibility of a personal consultation on site.

Print article
A contribution by Marcel Duparré

Share post

Our guide

to switch

Everything you need to know about funding,
costs, best practice and more ...

Our guide

to switch

Everything you need to know about funding,
costs, best practice and more ...

Imprint

Data protection

Lieferzeiten E-Auto – Damit können Sie rechnen

  •  

  •  

Lesedauer: 5 Minuten
Lieferzeiten von E-Autos Beitragsbild

Wieso sind eigentlich die Lieferzeiten bei Elektroautos so lang? E-Autos erfreuen sich immer steigender Beliebtheit. Laut einer Erhebung von Statista können sich über die Hälfte aller Deutschen vorstellen, in den nächsten Jahren ein Elektrofahrzeug zu kaufen.Darüber hinaus sind in den letzten zwei Jahren zudem die Zulassungen erheblich gestiegen. Von knapp 36.000 im Jahr 2018 hin zu 267.000 im Zeitraum von Januar bis Oktober 2021. Allerdings wird vielen dabei aufgefallen sein, dass es gar nicht so einfach ist, zügig an ein Elektroauto zu kommen. Die Nachfrage kann offensichtlich nicht direkt erfüllt werden. Der Fuhrparkmanager Stefan Jacob von SachsenEnergie stand uns für unsere Fragen zum Thema Lieferzeiten E-Auto gerne zur Verfügung und konnte uns mit seiner Expertise weiterhelfen. Wir erklären Ihnen, wie es zu den momentanen Elektroautolieferzeiten kommt und mit welcher Wartezeit Sie bei den verschiedenen E-Auto-Modellen rechnen müssen.

Lieferzeiten E-Auto

Stefan Jacob, Fuhrparkmanager bei SachsenEnergie

AKTUELLE LIEFERZEITEN ELEKTROAUTO – WIE LANGE MÜSSEN SIE WARTEN?

Zur Übersicht der E-Auto-Lieferzeiten haben wir für Sie die aktuellen Lieferzeiten der verschiedenen Modelle zusammengetragen. Die Spannweite ist dabei sehr groß. Von 2 Monaten beim Tesla Model Y bis hin zu 12-15 Monaten beim Audi Q4 e-tron. Infolgedessen ist die Entscheidung, welches Modell es am Ende wird, also nicht nur vom Auto selbst abhängig, sondern kann je nach eigenem Bedarf von der Lieferzeit beeinflusst werden.

Übersicht über aktuelle E-Auto Lieferzeiten von verschiedenen Modellen via Carwow:

Lieferzeiten für Elektroautos

Modell Lieferzeit Angebote ab
Tesla Model 3 3-4 Monate 36.970 €
VW ID.3 9-12 Monate 21.925 €
Polestar 2 3-4 Monate 36.930 €
KIA EV6 10 Monate 31.466 €
Renault ZOE 6 Monate 18.210 €
Cupra Born 3 Monate 28.127 €
pel Corsa-e 4 Monate 18.324 €
VW ID.4 10-12 Monate 27.581 €
VW ID.4 GTX 10-12 Monate 42.380 €
Dacia Spring 9 Monate 11.569 €
Hyundai Ioniq 5 6-8 Monate 30.706 €
Skoda Enyaq iV 7-9 Monate 22.376 €
Hyundai Kona
Elektro
4-6 Monate 22.863 €
Renault Twingo
Electric
6 Monate 12.985 €
Opel Mokka-e 4 Monate 23.333 €
Tesla Model S 7-8 Monate 97.970 €
Tesla Model X 12 Monate 106.970 €
Tesla Model Y/td> 7-8 Monate 52.970 €
BMW i3 4 Monate 24.379 €
BMW i4 8 Monate 44.079 €
BMW i4 M50 10 Monate 53.256 €
BMW iX 8 Monate 69.692 €
BMW iX3 8 Monate 50.396 €
Mercedes-Benz EQA 8 Monate
Mercedes-Benz EQB 2 Monate
Audi Q4 e-tron 7 Monate 27.329 €
Audi Q4
Sportback e-tron
7 Monate 29.049
Ford Mustang
Mach-E
7-8 Monate 38.020 €
smart EQ fortwo 8-9 Monate 11.324 €
MINI Cooper
SE 3-Türer
8 Monate 20.989 €
KIA e-Niro 10 Monate 22.588 €
Peugeot e-208 3 Monate 20.683 €
Citroen e-Berlingo 4,5 Monate 29.702 €
Citroen e-C4 5 Monate 24.689 €
Hyundai
IONIQ Elektro
4-6 Monate 23.200 €
Honda e 5-6 Monate 24.423 €
Kia e-Soul 10 Monate 21.431 €
Peugeot e-2008 4 Monate 25.452 €
Audi e-tron 5 Monate 51.062 €
Audi e-tron S 5 Monate 72.234 €
Audi e-tron S
Sportback
5 Monate 74.042 €
Mercedes EQC 11 Monate
Audi e-tron Sportback 5 Monate 52.954 €
Audi e-tron GT 8 Monate 88.759 €
Audi RS e-tron GT 8 Monate 119.840 €
Jaguar I-Pace 4 Monate 59.091 €
Porsche Taycan 3 Monate 76.851 €
Porsche Taycan
Cross Turismo/td>
3 Monate 86.797 €
Mazda MX-30 4-5 Monate 22.831 €
Nissan Leaf 6 Monate 19.169 €
Fiat 500 Elektro 3 Monate 14.173 €
Opel Zafira-e Life 4 Monate 34.688 €
Opel Combo-e Life 6 Monate 24.497 €
Citroen
e-SpaceTourer
5 Monate 37.127 €
Citroen
e-Jumpy Kombi
4 Monate 35.684 €
Toyota ProaceElectric 5-6 Monate 32.218 €
Toyota Proace Verso
Electric
5-6 Monate 50.564 €
Peugeot e-Rifter 5,5 Monate 25.151 €
Peugeot e-Traveller 4,5 Monate 37.193 €
Peugeot e-Expert
Kastenwagen
7 Monate 28.572 €
Peugeot
e-Expert Kombi
4 Monate 34.242 €
DS 3 Crossback
Elektro
5 Monate 28.878 €
smart EQ fortwo
Cabrio
8-9 Monate 14.356 €
smart EQ forfour Nicht bestellbar 11.938 €
Renault Kangoo Z.E. 6 Monate 22.583 €
Fiat E-Ducato
Kastenwagen
5 Monate 50.703 €
Fiat E-Ducato Kombi 5 Monate 51.836 €
Mercedes-Benz EQV 5 Monate
Mercedes-Benz
eVito Tourer
5 Monate
Mercedes-Benz EQS keine Angabe
VW e-Crafter
Kastenwagen
5 Monate 43.896 €
Volvo XC40 Recharge
Pure Electric
5 Monate
(Frontantrieb)
7 Monate
(Allradantrieb)
Volvo C40 Recharge 5 Monate
VW e-up! Nicht bestellbar
SEAT Mii electric Nicht bestellbar
Skoda CITIGOe iV Nicht bestellbar
VW e-Golf Nicht bestellbar
Citroen C-Zero Nicht bestellbar
Peugeot iOn Nicht bestellbar

Quelle: Carwow (Stand 16.12.2021)

Folglich ist ein gutes halbes Jahr also momentan eher die Regel als die Ausnahme, wenn es um Lieferzeiten von E-Autos geht. Woran liegt das?

Ursachen für die langen Lieferzeiten

Es gibt drei Hauptgründe für die lange Lieferzeit: die Corona Pandemie, weltweite Chipknappheit und die nicht ausreichenden Produktionsressourcen. Pandemiebedingt wurden Kapazitäten in fast allen Bereichen reduziert, was sich auf die Lieferketten ausgewirkt hat. So gestaltet sich beispielsweise die Versorgung mit Teilen und Batterie-Komponenten schwieriger als sonst. Ein weiterer Grund ist die weltweite Chipknappheit. Auch hier wurden die Kapazitäten durch die Pandemielage eher verringert als vergrößert. Währenddessen ist die Nachfrage nach Geräten, die Mikrochips benötigen, höher denn je. Die gesteigerte Nachfrage nach Elektroautos spielt hier eine große Rolle, aber nicht die alleinige. Auch Unterhaltungselektronik, Medizintechnik und Kommunikationstechnik wie etwa um Unternehmen auf Homeoffice umzustellen, sind treibende Kräfte. Auch die Automobilindustrie hat mit der hohen Nachfrage so ihre Probleme. Die Konjunkturpakete funktionieren ausgezeichnet, leider war ein schnelles Hochfahren der Produktionslinien nicht in dem benötigten Maße möglich. Die langen Lieferzeiten sind also nicht auf ein einziges Problem zurückzuführen. Sie sind vielmehr das Ergebnis mehrerer unterschiedlicher Ursachen aus verschiedenen Bereichen. Doch gibt es Möglichkeiten, wie Sie doch noch kurzfristig an ein neues E-Auto kommen?

„Ein häufiges Missverständnis ist, dass nicht ausreichend Produktionslinien auf E-Mobilität umgestellt wurden. Die Produktion von E-Fahrzeugen läuft aber teilweise auf den gleichen Bändern wie die von Verbrennern. Es mangelt also vielmehr generell an Produktionsressourcen. Sogar wir als Großkunde bekommen keine spezifischen Informationen zu den Lieferverzögerungen von unseren Fahrzeughändlern."

Stefan Jacob

So bekommen Sie doch noch kurzfristig ein neues E-Auto

Es gibt einige Möglichkeiten, wie Sie doch noch an ein neues E-Auto kommen können. Nicht jedes Modell leidet unter den langen E-Auto-Lieferzeiten. Die folgenden Modelle sind in unter 3 Monaten lieferbar:

 

Cupra Born: 3 Monate

Opel Mokka-e: 3 Monate

Peugeot e-208: 3 Monate

Peugeot e-2008: 3 Monate

Porsche Taycan: 3 Monate

Porsche Taycan Cross Turismo: 3 Monate

Tesla Model Y: 2 Monate

 

Immer noch eine lange Wartezeit, wenn man endlich sein neues Elektroauto fahren will, aber definitiv verschmerzbar. Wenn Sie eine Wartezeit von 6 Monaten für annehmbar halten, haben Sie sogar die Wahl aus über der Hälfte aller Modelle. Sollten Sie ein anderes Modell ins Auge gefasst haben oder die Wartezeit weiter verkürzen wollen, lohnt sich die Recherche. Viele Anbieter haben Bestände aus vorkonfigurierten, lagernden Fahrzeugen oder spezielle Leasingkontingente, bei denen Sie fündig werden könnten. Solange Ihre Vorstellungen bei der Ausstattung nicht allzu spezifisch sind, können Sie Glück haben. So könnten Sie auch innerhalb weniger Tage/Wochen Besitzer eines Elektroautos werden. Zudem gibt es auch das E-Auto Abo, eine Alternative die nicht jeder kennt. Ähnlich wie dem Leasing sind Sie hier nicht eigentlicher Besitzer des Elektroautos, können es aber gegen eine Gebühr nutzen. Dabei fällt allerdings keine Anzahlung oder ein Restwertausgleich an. Zudem ist es viel flexibler als ein Leasing, viele Abos können spontan abgeschlossen und monatlich wieder gekündigt werden. Falls ein E-Auto-Abo keine längerfristige Alternative für Sie ist, so kann es Ihnen dennoch helfen, die Wartezeit auf Ihr Wunschmodell zu überbrücken.

„Aktuell ist eine Besserung beim Thema Lieferzeiten von Elektroautos nicht absehbar. Der Umstieg auf andere Modelle ist für unser Unternehmen nicht so einfach, zum Einen wegen mittelfristiger Lieferabkommen und zu Anderen wegen der (Nicht-)Eignung bestimmter Modelle für den entsprechenden Einsatzzweck."

Stefan Jacob

FAZIT Lieferzeiten E-Auto: Keine Rückkehr zur Normalität absehbar

Die aktuellen Lieferzeiten für Elektroautos sind lang. Sechs Monate und mehr sind eher Regel als Ausnahme. Zwar gehen diese langen Wartezeiten auf verständliche Probleme zurück, mit ein paar Tricks von uns können Sie sie trotzdem umgehen. Auch wenn sich einer der drei Hauptgründe bessert, wird der Chipmangel laut Einschätzung von Experten mindestens bis in das Jahr 2022 anhalten, vielleicht auch länger. Es ist also nicht genau absehbar, wann sich die Lieferzeiten beim Elektroauto wieder normalisieren werden. Davon sollten Sie sich in Ihrem Enthusiasmus für Elektromobilität nicht ausbremsen lassen.

Nutzen Sie bei Interesse in jedem Fall die Möglichkeit einer persönlichen Beratung vor Ort.

Jetzt kostenfrei unser Whitepaper zur
Elektrifizierung Ihres Fuhrparks herunterladen!

+ Jetzt neu inkl. Factsheet zur Förderung
Ein Beitrag von Marcel Duparré

Beitrag teilen

Leitfaden zum umschalten

Unser Leitfaden

zum Umschalten

Alles was Sie wissen müssen über Förderungen,
Kosten, Best Practice und mehr …

Unser Leitfaden

zum Umschalten

Alles was Sie wissen müssen über Förderungen,
Kosten, Best Practice und mehr …

Leitfaden zum umschalten

Impressum

Datenschutz