On holiday with the e-car - trips to Austria, France and Denmark

  - •  

  - •  

Reading time: 3 Minutes
switch contribution picture Going on holiday with the e-car

To the supermarket, to work or to the lake - owners of electric cars use their vehicles primarily to cover shorter distances. However, the shorter range of cars powered by electricity does not rule out long distances: Going on holiday with an e-car is possible with the right planning.

 

BEFORE THE HOLIDAY TRIP: PLAN THE ROUTE

The charging infrastructure is not only being constantly expanded within Germany. Many European countries, especially in the west and north of Europe, are well prepared for electric mobility. If you want to go on holiday with an e-car, different providers as well as payment systems require careful planning before you start your journey.

Special route planners are particularly helpful for this. In addition to Google Maps, websites such as GoingElectric or Chargemap not only show the planned route, but also charging stations. GoingElectric also includes the car model and the plug type of the vehicle used in its individual calculation. Information on registration and roaming is also available on the website.

The ADAC route planner also has a function for displaying the charging stations on the selected route. For on the road, there are also various apps that are helpful in the search for charging options via location detection. The Here application for Android and iOS, for example, provides a good overview of charging stations throughout Europe.

TO AUSTRIA BY ELECTRIC CAR

Austria is the perfect holiday destination for owners of electric cars. Locally, e-mobilists will find a charging point about every 30 kilometres. With 5,000 charging points for about 21,000 pure e-cars, the neighbouring country is one of the pioneers in the expansion of public charging infrastructure. The network of the Federal Association of Electric Mobility Austria (BEÖ) includes a total of 3,000 of these charging points. To find the nearest charging point, use the e-charging point finder. The free map service lists e-charging stations in Austria and is also available as an app.

The charging cards of all BEÖ member companies are compatible with the charging stations. A list of these can be found on the association's website. Those who do not have a suitable card can also spontaneously fill up with electricity in Austria using their smartphone and a QR code reader. Payment is then made by credit card or another payment provider. Schuko plugs, type 2 plugs. CHAdeMO plugs, CEE plugs and Combo plugs (Combined Charging System CCS).

Another charging infrastructure provider in Austria is SMATRICS. Of the more than 435 charging points in the SMATRICS network, 210 are fast charging points with outputs of 43 or 50 kW. These are located approximately every 60 kilometres along the motorways and in conurbations. This makes full charging possible in 30 minutes. Roaming partners include The New Motion and Ladenetz.de.

Logo Saxony Energy-1c
Charge card or app banner

E-car charging convenient and
cheap!

Power refueling via charging card or app

HOLIDAY IN FRANCE

With 24,850 public charging points, France also ranks among the top countries in Europe. So going on holiday with an electric car is relatively easy here. However, those on holiday here should note that the local charging points are unevenly distributed geographically. Many charging stations are located in the major cities - 738 in Paris alone, for example. Away from the French capital, the departments of Hauts-de-Seine, Seine-et-Marne, Gironde and Finistère are also good places to recharge. In contrast, the charging infrastructure is less developed in the centre of the country.

Holidaymakers can quickly charge their electric cars in France at over 2,200 charging points. Thanks to the Corri-Door project of the charging infrastructure provider IZIVIA, e-mobilists currently find a fast-charging station every 80 kilometres. Charging here takes about 20 to 30 minutes - as long as a coffee break. Type 2 plugs, Combo plugs (Combined Charging System CCS) and CHAdeMO plugs can be connected to the fast chargers. The normal chargers also have a connection for the Schuko plug.

The Chargemap Pass is a suitable charging card for holidays in France. It is currently accepted in France by Corri-door, CNR, Belib, Eborn, EPAMSA, USEDA, SDE07, SDE28, SDEF and many other providers. The starter package costs 19.90 euros. After registering, users receive the charging card by post within a few days.

ON THE ROAD IN DENMARK

In Denmark, e-mobilists can refuel at around 2,700 charging points. Over 500 of these are fast-charging. The charging stations of E.ON DK and Clever are particularly widespread. Travellers must note, however, that the two companies do not offer roaming between each other. You have to choose a provider's card before you start your journey. E.ON DK offers non-customers, among other things, telephone activation and charges a flat fee per charge. To use the Clever charging stations, on the other hand, an RFID prepaid card is required that can be recharged in 100 kWh increments. The provider recommends ordering the card at least seven working days before departure.

Practical: If you have a charging card from NewMotion or EinfachStromLaden, for example, you can charge your electric car at both E.ON DK and Clever.

CONCLUSION: Going on holiday with an e-car? No problem!

Taking an e-car on holiday is no longer a problem in Austria, France and Denmark. As a general rule, planning is everything. Travellers should familiarise themselves with their route in advance of the trip and register for the appropriate payment system at least two weeks in advance. If you want to be on the safe side, keep the 230 V emergency charging cable in your car. This way, your electric car is ready to go again for the next stage after a few hours or overnight if you are travelling for several days.

Poland and the Czech Republic are also worthwhile destinations. We have already researched for you which providers there are and where you can find the nearest charging station.

A contribution by Marcel Duparré

Share post

Guide to switching

Our guide

to switch

Everything you need to know about funding,
costs, best practice and more ...

Our guide

to switch

Everything you need to know about funding,
costs, best practice and more ...

Guide to switching

Imprint

Data protection

Mit dem E-Auto in den Urlaub – Reisen nach Österreich, Frankreich und Dänemark

Zum Supermarkt, zur Arbeit oder zum See – Besitzer von Elektroautos nutzen ihre Fahrzeuge vor allem, um kürzere Strecken zurückzulegen. Die geringere Reichweite der mit Strom betriebenen Autos schließt weite Distanzen allerdings nicht aus: Mit der richtigen Planung bringt einen das E-Auto sogar in den Urlaub.

Vor der Urlaubsreise: Route planen

Die Ladeinfrastruktur wird nicht nur innerhalb von Deutschland ständig weiter ausgebaut. Viele europäische Länder, vor allem im Westen und Norden Europas, sind gut auf Elektromobilität eingestellt. Dennoch erfordern unterschiedliche Anbieter sowie Bezahlsysteme vor Reiseantritt eine sorgfältige Planung.

Besonders hilfreich sind hierfür spezielle Routenplaner. Neben Google Maps zeigen Webseiten wie GoingElectric oder Chargemap nämlich nicht nur die geplante Strecke, sondern auch Ladestationen an. GoingElectric bezieht darüber hinaus auch das Automodell und den Steckertyp des genutzten Fahrzeugs in seine individuelle Berechnung mit ein. Informationen zur Registrierung und zum Roaming sind auf der Webseite ebenfalls hinterlegt.

Über eine Funktion zur Anzeige der Ladesäulen an der gewählten Strecke verfügt auch der Routenplaner von ADAC . Für unterwegs gibt es zudem diverse Apps, die via Standortermittlung hilfreich bei der Suche nach Lademöglichkeiten sind. Die Anwendung Here – für Android und iOS – gibt beispielsweise eine gute Übersicht über Ladestationen in ganz Europa.

Mit dem Elektroauto nach Österreich

Österreich ist für Besitzer von Elektroautos das perfekte Urlaubsziel. Vor Ort finden E-Mobilisten etwa alle 30 Kilometer eine Ladesäule. Mit 5.000 Ladepunkten für etwa 21.000 reine E-Autos zählt das Nachbarland damit zu den Vorreitern beim Ausbau der öffentlichen Ladeinfrastruktur. Zum Netz des Bundesverbands Elektromobilität Österreich (BEÖ) gehören insgesamt 3.000 dieser Ladepunkte. Für die Suche nach der nächstgelegenen Lademöglichkeit bietet sich vor Ort der E-Tankstellenfinder an. Der kostenlose Kartendienst listet E-Ladestationen in Österreich auf und ist auch als App verfügbar.

Kompatibel mit den Ladesäulen sind die Ladekarten aller BEÖ-Mitgliedsunternehmen. Eine Liste dieser befindet sich auf der Webseite des Verbunds. Wer keine passende Karte besitzt, kann mit dem Smartphone und einem QR-Code-Reader in Österreich auch spontan Strom tanken. Die Zahlung erfolgt dann über die Kreditkarte oder einen anderen Zahlungsprovider. Angeschlossen werden können Schuko-Stecker, Typ 2-Stecker. CHAdeMO-Stecker, CEE-Stecker und Combo-Stecker (Combined Charging System CCS).

Ein weiterer Ladeinfrastruktur-Anbieter in Österreich ist SMATRICS. Im SMATRICS-Netz fallen von mehr als 435 Ladepunkten 210 auf Schnellladepunkte mit Leistungen von 43 beziehungsweise 50 kW. Diese befinden sich etwa alle 60 Kilometer entlang der Autobahnen und in Ballungszentren. Damit sind Vollladungen in 30 Minuten möglich. Roaming-Partner sind unter anderem The New Motion und Ladenetz.de.

Urlaub in Frankreich

Frankreich liegt mit 24.850 öffentlichen Ladepunkten im europäischen Vergleich ebenfalls auf den vorderen Plätzen. Wer hier Urlaub macht, sollte allerdings beachten, dass die Ladepunkte vor Ort geografisch ungleichmäßig verteilt sind. Viele Ladestationen befinden sich in den Großstädten – 738 beispielsweise allein in Paris. Abseits der französischen Hauptstadt lässt es sich außerdem in den Departements Hauts-de-Seine, Seine-et-Marne, Gironde und Finistère gut Strom tanken. Schwächer ausgebaut ist die Ladeinfrastruktur hingegen in der Mitte des Landes.

An über 2.200 Ladepunkten können Urlaubsreisende ihre Elektroautos in Frankreich schnell aufladen. Durch das Projekt Corri-Door des Ladeinfrastruktur-Anbieters IZIVIA finden E-Mobilisten aktuell alle 80 Kilometer eine Schnellladestation. Das Aufladen dauert hier etwa 20 bis 30 Minuten – so lange wie eine Kaffeepause. An die Schnelllader können Typ 2-Stecker, Combo-Stecker (Combined Charging System CCS) sowie CHAdeMO-Stecker angeschlossen werden. Die Normallader verfügen darüber hinaus auch über einen Anschluss für den Schuko-Stecker.

Als Ladekarte eignet sich für den Urlaub in Frankreich der Chargemap-Pass. Er wird in Frankreich aktuell von Corri-door, CNR, Belib, Eborn, EPAMSA, USEDA, SDE07, SDE28, SDEF und vielen weiteren Anbietern akzeptiert. Das Starterpaket kostet 19,90 Euro. Nach einer Registrierung erhalten Nutzer die Ladekarte innerhalb weniger Tage per Post.

Unterwegs in Dänemark

In Dänemark können E-Mobilisten an rund 2.700 Ladepunkten auftanken. Über 500 davon sind schnellladend. Besonders weit verbreitet sind die Ladestationen von E.ON DK und Clever. Reisende müssen allerdings beachten, dass die beiden Unternehmen untereinander kein Roaming anbieten. Vor Reiseantritt muss man sich für die Karte eines Anbieters entscheiden. E.ON DK bietet Nicht-Kunden unter anderem eine Telefonaktivierung an und erhebt pro Ladung einen pauschalen Beitrag. Für die Nutzung der Clever-Ladesäulen wird hingegen eine RFID-Prepaidkarte benötigt, die sich in 100-kWh-Schritten wieder aufladen lässt. Der Anbieter empfiehlt, die Karte mindestens sieben Werktage vor Abreise zu bestellen.

Praktisch: Wer zum Beispiel eine Ladekarte von NewMotion oder EinfachStromLaden besitzt, kann sowohl bei E.ON DK als auch bei Clever sein Elektroauto aufladen.

Fazit

Ein Urlaub in Österreich, Frankreich oder Dänemark ist mit dem Elektroauto heute kein Problem mehr. Generell gilt: Planung ist alles. Reisende sollten sich bereits im Vorfeld der Reise mit ihrer Route vertraut machen und sich spätestens zwei Wochen im Vorfeld für das passende Bezahlsystem registrieren. Wer auf Nummer sicher gehen will, hält das 230-V-Notladekabel im Auto bereit. So ist Ihr Elektroauto nach einigen Stunden oder bei mehrtägigen Reisen über Nacht wieder startklar für die nächste Etappe.

Auch Polen und Tschechien sind ein lohnendes Reiseziel. Welche Anbieter es gibt und wo Sie die nächste Ladesäule finden, haben wir bereits für Sie recherchiert.

Empfehlen Sie den Beitrag:
Ihre Meinung ist uns wichtig!

Geben Sie Ihre Meinung ab!

Mit dem Einsenden eines Kommentars, stimmen Sie den Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.

Weitere Artikel des Autors