Battery recycling for electric cars thanks to research from Saxony

  - •  

  - •  

Reading time: 4 Minutes
Feature image Battery Recycling e-Car

Electric cars are an essential part of the mobility revolution. A central component for sustainable e-mobility is the battery of the electric vehicle. Its production is complex, consumes a lot of energy and requires limited resources such as lithium, cobalt or nickel. And even if the e-car batteries last a relatively long time and can continue to serve as electricity storage for the household, for example, sooner or later methods will have to be found to reuse the valuable raw materials. Of course, this battery recycling would be best organised regionally, as this would reduce additional environmental impacts for transport. So is there an opportunity here for Saxony as a car state?

Umschalten.de spoke with Dr Mareike Wolter from the Fraunhofer Institute IKTS in Dresden about current Saxon research and economic opportunities. She is currently head of the department "Mobile Energy Storage and Electrochemistry" and will in future head the Technology Centre Semiconductor Materials THM in Freiberg. The new technology centre focuses on high-performance materials and will also research the recycling of energy storage devices in more detail.


DR. WOLTER, HOW IMPORTANT IS SAXONY FOR ELECTROMOBILITY?

Saxony is a relevant factor for the electric car economy in Germany. The main production facilities of VW, BMW and Porsche are located here, and numerous suppliers are also based here. However, the development departments of the major car manufacturers are often located in the old federal states. As an institute that shapes the transfer of knowledge between research and industry, this presents us with challenges. We cannot change the geography, but we can convince with specific competences.

e-car Battery recycling Resources
THE SAXON STATE GOVERNMENT APPROVED FIVE MILLION EUROS FOR ITS INSTITUTE IN MAY 2020. THE TOPIC OF THE RESEARCH PROJECT IS SUSTAINABLE BATTERY PRODUCTION. CAN YOU EXPLAIN THAT TO US IN MORE DETAIL?

First of all, we are very appreciative of the funds that have been granted. That such a large sum goes to just one institute is not a matter of course. Saxony spends a comparatively large amount of money on research for a "new" federal state. The funds will be invested in the necessary equipment for researching new battery generations in Dresden and for optimising battery recycling in Freiberg. We want to make a contribution to making battery cell production in Germany sustainable, both economically and environmentally friendly.

 

ONE OF YOUR DEPARTMENT'S BETTER-KNOWN RESEARCH PROJECTS IS THE BIPOLAR BATTERY CONCEPT UNDER THE BRAND NAME EMBATT. WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES OF THIS NEW TYPE OF ELECTRIC CAR BATTERY DESIGN?

In recent years, we have developed a concept to increase the energy density of batteries. The space for a battery in an electric car will not grow, which is why more range can only be achieved in this way. More energy density in the same space means more storage capacity and thus more energy that I can take with me. We have to use resources efficiently, because e-vehicles are a necessary building block for the decarbonisation of our economy. We are therefore currently researching together with Daimler AG and IAV GmbH, among others, how this new concept can work in production.

 
Recycling Battery recycling
 

KEYWORD: BATTERY RECYCLING: WHAT ARE THE PARAMETERS THAT FRAUNHOFER IKTS IN SAXONY IS WORKING ON FOR MORE SUSTAINABLE BATTERIES?

For us, these are essentially two points. One current problem is the liquid electrolytes in the batteries, which offer potential hazards and cause the cells to age. Our EMBATT concept, however, relies on solid electrolytes, where these problems do not occur. The second point is that true recycling of electric car batteries does not currently take place. The legal requirement is 50 per cent, so it is enough to recycle the casing and a few individual parts. The scarce resources are currently often not recovered because it is cheaper to buy them from the world's production areas, including cobalt, which is well known from the media. We want to optimise battery recycling so that it is not cheaper to extract the raw materials in the Congo.

 

FREIBERG WILL BE A CENTRAL LOCATION FOR RESEARCH ON ELECTRIC CAR BATTERIES IN SAXONY. WHY JUST HERE?

The TU Bergakademie Freiberg has a long tradition in materials science. The Technology Centre for Semiconductor Materials THM has existed there since 2005, and colleagues from the Fraunhofer Institutes here have done excellent preliminary work. In Freiberg, we will pay particular attention to how the storage materials can be recycled and reintroduced into the cycle. We can expect important impulses in this area from Freiberg.

 

OUR FINAL QUESTION: WHAT DO YOU SEE AS THE OPPORTUNITIES IF THE RECYCLING OF ELECTRIC CAR BATTERIES BECOMES MORE REGIONAL?

In the team, we often discuss the challenges already faced by companies that put e-car batteries into circulation. They are legally obliged to take back these batteries and know that used storage units are also sources of raw materials. Sometimes, however, the batteries come back damaged or with defects, so that transporting them for reprocessing could be too dangerous. In the future, we will therefore need decentralised collection points where the batteries can be shredded and thus the components safely transported. The actual battery recycling could then take place more centrally at specialists.

Battery recycling: Our conclusion

 

The topic of battery recycling for electric cars will therefore continue to occupy research and industry for some time to come, but in Saxony, too, important steps are being taken to make e-cars and their energy storage systems even more sustainable. New concepts with more storage capacity and more environmentally friendly and efficient ways to reuse valuable materials are part of the solution. In this way, Saxony will continue to make a major contribution to the new automotive industry, not only in production, but also in the development towards an "economy without coal".

Do you have questions about the future of e-car batteries? Would you like to learn more about the possibilities of reusing batteries? Write us your topic ideas at frag@umschalten.de!

A contribution by Marcel Duparré

Share post

Guide to switching

Our guide

to switch

Everything you need to know about funding,
costs, best practice and more ...

Our guide

to switch

Everything you need to know about funding,
costs, best practice and more ...

Guide to switching

Imprint

Data protection

Elektroauto: Batterie-Recycling mit Forschung aus Sachsen

Elektroautos sind ein wesentlicher Teil der Mobilitätswende. Zentraler Baustein für nachhaltige E-Mobilität ist dabei die Batterie des E-Fahrzeugs. Die Herstellung ist aufwendig, verbraucht viel Energie und benötigt limitierte Ressourcen wie beispielsweise Lithium, Kobalt oder Nickel. Und auch wenn die E-Auto-Batterien relativ lange halten und beispielsweise als Stromspeicher für den Haushalt weiter dienen können, müssen früher oder später Methoden her, um die wertvollen Rohstoffe wiederzuverwenden. Dieses Recycling wäre natürlich am besten regional zu organisieren, da so zusätzliche Umweltbelastungen für den Transport reduziert werden können. Liegt hier also eine Chance für das Autoland Sachsen?

Umschalten.de hat mit Frau Dr. Mareike Wolter vom Fraunhofer-Institut IKTS in Dresden über die aktuelle sächsische Forschung und die wirtschaftlichen Chancen gesprochen. Aktuell leitet sie die Abteilung „Mobile Energiespeicher und Elektrochemie“ und wird zukünftig dem Technologiezentrum Halbleitermaterialien THM in Freiberg vorstehen. Das neue Technologiezentrum hat den Fokus auf Hochleistungsmaterialien und wird auch das Recycling von Energiespeichern genauer erforschen.

Dr. Wolter, wie wichtig ist Sachsen für die Elektromobilität?

Sachsen ist ein relevanter Faktor für die Elektroauto-Wirtschaft Deutschland. Hier liegen die maßgeblichen Produktionsstätten von VW, BMW und Porsche und auch zahlreiche Zulieferer haben hier ihren Sitz. Die Entwicklungsabteilungen der großen Automobilhersteller sitzen jedoch häufig in den alten Bundesländern. Als Institut, das den Wissenstransfer zwischen Forschung und Industrie gestaltet, stellt uns das vor Herausforderungen. Die Geografie können wir nicht ändern, aber mit spezifischen Kompetenzen überzeugen.

e-Auto Batterierecycling Ressourcen

Die sächsische Landesregierung hat im Mai 2020 fünf Millionen Euro für Ihr Institut bewilligt. Thema des Forschungsprojekts ist die nachhaltige Batteriefertigung. Können Sie uns das genauer erklären?

Zunächst einmal sind wir sehr denkbar über die bewilligten Mittel. Dass eine so hohe Summe an nur ein Institut geht, ist nicht selbstverständlich. Sachsen gibt für ein „neues“ Bundesland vergleichsweise viel Geld für die Forschung aus. Die Mittel werden in die nötige Ausstattung zur Erforschung neuer Batterie-Generationen in Dresden und für die Optimierung des Batterierecyclings in Freiberg investiert. Wir möchten damit einen Beitrag dazu leisten, die Batteriezellfertigung in Deutschland nachhaltig zu gestalten, wirtschaftlich als auch umweltschonend.

Ein bekannteres Forschungsprojekt Ihrer Abteilung ist das bipolare Batterienkonzept unter dem Markennamen EMBATT. Welche Vorteile stecken in diesem neuartigen Aufbau von Elektroauto-Batterien?

In den letzten Jahren haben wir ein Konzept entwickelt, mit der die Energiedichte von Batterien gesteigert werden kann. Der Platz für einen Akku im Elektroauto wird nicht wachsen, weshalb mehr Reichweite nur so bewerkstelligt werden kann. Mehr Energiedichte auf gleichem Raum bedeutet mehr Speicherkapazität und somit mehr Energie, die ich mitnehmen kann. Wir müssen die Ressourcen effizient einsetzen, denn E-Fahrzeuge sind ein notwendiger Baustein für die Dekarbonisierung unserer Wirtschaft. Aktuell erforschen wir deshalb gemeinsam mit u.a. der Daimler AG sowie der IAV GmbH, wie dieses neue Konzept in der Fertigung funktionieren kann.

Recycling Batterierycling

Stichwort Batterierecycling: An welchen Stellschrauben arbeitet das Fraunhofer IKTS in Sachsen für nachhaltigere Batterien?

Bei uns sind das im Wesentlichen zwei Punkte. Ein aktuelles Problem sind die flüssigen Elektrolyte in den Batterien, die Gefahrenpotentiale bieten und für die Alterung der Zellen sorgen. Unser EMBATT-Konzept setzt jedoch auf feste Elektrolyte, bei denen diese Probleme nicht eintreten. Der zweite Punkt ist der, dass ein echtes Recycling von Elektroautobatterien derzeit noch nicht stattfindet. Die gesetzliche Vorgabe ist 50 Prozent, sodass es reicht, die Hülle und ein paar Einzelteile wiederzuverwenden. Die knappen Ressourcen werden aktuell häufig nicht zurückgewonnen, weil es billiger ist, diese aus den weltweiten Anbaugebieten einzukaufen, auch das aus den Medien bekannte Kobalt. Wir wollen das Recycling so optimieren, dass es eben nicht günstiger ist, die Rohstoffe im Kongo zu gewinnen.

Freiberg wird ein zentraler Standort für die Forschung an Elektroautobatterien in Sachsen. Warum gerade hier?

Die TU Bergakademie Freiberg hat eine lange Tradition in der Materialwissenschaft. Das Technologiezentrum Halbleitermaterialien THM existiert dort bereits seit 2005. Die Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus den Fraunhofer-Instituten hier haben exzellente Vorarbeiten geleistet. Wir werden uns in Freiberg insbesondere darum kümmern, wie die Speichermaterialien recycelt werden und wieder in den Kreislauf geführt werden können. Aus Freiberg darf man wichtige Impulse in dem Bereich erwarten.

Unsere letzte Frage: Welche Chancen sehen Sie darin, wenn das Recycling von Elektroautobatterien regionaler wird?

Im Team diskutieren wir häufig, vor welchen Herausforderungen Unternehmen bereits heute stehen, die E-Auto-Batterien in den Umlauf bringen. Sie sind gesetzlich dazu verpflichtet, diese Batterien zurückzunehmen und wissen, dass auch gebrauchte Speicher Rohstoffquellen sind. Manchmal kommen die Akkus aber auch havariert zurück oder mit Fehlern, sodass ein Transport zur Wiederaufbereitung zu gefährlich sein könnte. In Zukunft werden wir deshalb dezentrale Annahmestellen benötigen, bei denen die Batterien geshreddet und so die Bestandteile sicher transportiert werden können. Das eigentliche Recycling könnte dann zentraler bei Spezialisten stattfinden.

Whitepaper Banner - Umschalten.de
Whitepaper Umschalten

Das Thema Batterierecycling für Elektroautos wird Forschung und Industrie also noch eine Weile beschäftigen, jedoch werden auch in Sachsen wichtige Weichen gestellt, um E-Autos und ihre Energiespeicher noch nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Neue Konzepte mit mehr Speicherkapazität und umweltschonendere und effizientere Wege zur Wiederverwendung wertvoller Materialien sind ein Teil der Lösung. So wird Sachsen auch in Zukunft einen großen Beitrag zur neuen Automobilindustrie liefern, nicht nur in der Produktion, sondern auch in der Entwicklung hin zu einer „Wirtschaft ohne Kohle“.

Haben Sie Fragen zur Zukunft der E-Auto-Batterien? Möchten Sie mehr über die Möglichkeiten der Wiederverwendung von Akkus erfahren? Schreiben Sie uns Ihre Themenideen an frag@umschalten.de!