Safety in electromobility: Is an e-car dangerous or is there no difference to a combustion engine?

  - •  

  - •  

Reading time: 6 Minutes
Toggle article image Article Safety in electromobility

Table of contents

As interest in buying an e-car increases, so does interest in its safety. Particularly in the media, e-car accidents and fires are repeatedly discussed in great detail. For the individual, it is often difficult to quickly assess whether the media focus is justified or simply due to the increased interest in a new technology. To this end, we want to take a close look at the potential risks of an e-car. We turned to Thomas Kubin, a technician at ADAC Saxony, who provided us with his expertise. Is an e-car dangerous or can you look for your dream car with a clear conscience?

E-car dangerous? Expert Thomas Kubin Technician of ADAC Saxony

Thomas Kubin, Technician of ADAC Saxony

How safe are electric cars in the event of an accident?

No one assumes they will be involved in an accident anytime soon, but sometimes it's out of their own hands. Even the best and most careful driver can end up in an unpleasant situation. Should such an accident occur, it is important to be informed about the level of danger potential of one's own vehicle. Also, some knowledge that has already been acquired may no longer apply to electric cars in exactly the same way as it does to internal combustion vehicles.

Fire hazard - a challenge for the fire brigade

One of the most widespread dangers in the media regarding e-cars is that of fire. The media presence is so great that even the German Fire Brigades Association issued a press release on the subject. In it, it is explained that although a burning e-car poses a different and somewhat more difficult challenge than a fire in a combustion car, it is certainly extinguishable. It is also interesting to note that a gas-powered vehicle is even more difficult to extinguish. Parking it in the garage should also not be a problem. As long as it is a garage built in compliance with building laws and a certified charging device, the German Fire Brigades Association sees no reason for concern. You can find more on this topic in our article "Charging station in the underground car park: risk of fire protection?

"Of course, the fire of an e-car is much more talked about by media coverage than the fire of a conventional vehicle. Tests have also shown that occupants have just as much time to leave the vehicle in the event of a fire as in the case of vehicles with combustion engines. An explosion of the drive battery (lithium-ion battery) can be ruled out with a probability bordering on certainty."

Thomas Kubin

Danger battery - high-voltage system

An important aspect that you should consider as a new owner of an electric car is the installed high-voltage technology. If you are a passionate mechanic who likes to do small repairs yourself, you should not do this with your electric car. Because of the very strong current required for the electric vehicle, skilled personnel are necessary. Of course, you don't generally have to be afraid of getting an electric shock when you touch your car, but especially in the case of accident-related breakdowns or minor damage, the opinion of an expert should be sought.

Artificial noise as a precaution for other road users

Since electric vehicles can travel very quietly, almost silently, at low speeds, the European Union has introduced the Regulation that from 01.07.2021 all low-noise vehicles must be equipped with a so-called "vehicle warning sound generator", or AVAS (Acoustic Vehicle Alert System). The system must be permanently switched on at speeds of 0 to 20 km/h, thus enabling other road users not to be surprised by the silent vehicle. Above 20 km/h, the artificial sound is no longer necessary for e-cars, as the rolling noise of the tyres drowns out the sound of a sound generator or conventional engine. For you as a driver, nothing changes for a vehicle newly registered after 01.07.21. In the case of older electric used cars without AVAS, you must pay particular attention when driving at low speed. There is currently no general obligation to retrofit AVAS. However, such a retrofit can significantly increase safety for other road users and thus minimise your own risk of accidents. BAFA sees it the same way and subsidises the retrofitting of an AVAS with 100€ under certain conditions. Find out whether your model is eligible for the funding!

Is an autopilot in a combustion or electric car dangerous?

One thing in advance: as nice as fully autonomous driving may sound in theory, its use in everyday life is still a long way off. Of course, there are initial pilot projects, but we are still a long way from approval on German roads. Existing examples such as the Tesla "Autopilot" are more comparable to a feature-rich driving assistance. Moreover, such driving assistants also exist in conventional combustion cars, so this is by no means an e-car-specific phenomenon. So when we talk about e-car safety, we can give the all-clear with a clear conscience. The driver is still so constantly involved in the driving process that there is definitely no additional danger from the technology. And those who are eagerly waiting for it still have to exercise patience.

What do you need to be aware of in the event of an accident?

What precautions should be taken in advance, just in case? The danger posed by the high-voltage system also applies to the rescuers during a recovery. It is therefore a good idea to print out the ADAC rescue card suitable for your vehicle model and keep it in the vehicle. Although the electrical components of an electric car must be intrinsically safe, i.e. they must automatically disconnect from the circuit in the event of damage in the course of an accident, it is still not a good idea to work on the electric vehicle yourself, as that is where an electric car is dangerous. It is better to rely on experts.

Electric car crash test: Everything as before

The results of electric vehicles in the crash tests carried out by Euro NCAP are completely normal, according to the ADAC. There are models such as the VW ID.3, the Jaguar I-Pace or the Tesla Model 3 that all achieved the full five stars, but also models such as the Dacia Spring or the Renault Zoe that failed the latest test with one or no stars. As always, it pays to do thorough research before buying a vehicle.

E-car or combustion engine, which is safer?

We can state that there are no significant differences in safety compared to combustion engines. This is hardly surprising, as the same high safety standards of conventional combustion engines also apply to electric vehicles. The new technology brings its own challenges, and you should be aware of them. Just as with internal combustion vehicles, you will be well prepared for the worst if you are properly prepared. 

"The operation of millions of combustion vehicles has been largely safe for decades. Why shouldn't engineers be able to safely operate electric cars?"

Thomas Kubin

Does the insurance pay in the event of damage?

Yes, it does. With insurance, an electric car is protected in the same way as a combustion engine. According to Allianz, the liability insurance of the car insurer also covers the damage to the garage if an electric vehicle catches fire and damages it. In the course of its article, Allianz also confirms our findings on the subject of e-car safety and crash tests for electric cars once again and comes to the same conclusion as we did.

Roadside assistance for e-cars - What to do if the battery is flat?

Draining the battery in an electric car is a particularly difficult challenge. Long before you break down, the warning systems in all electric vehicles kick in. Most of them even know the location of all the surrounding charging stations and direct you to them. If you still manage to run the battery completely flat, there are several ways you can be helped. The first would be the ADAC breakdown service or your manufacturer's breakdown service. Many manufacturers offer free assistance, especially in the first few years. The electric mobility boom has not gone unnoticed by the ADAC either, and you can find help here as well. One important piece of additional information for you as a driver: if you drive a car with the option of bidirectional charging in the future, you could even be supplied with energy by another e-car in an emergency. The Sono Sion, for example, is supposed to have this feature built in as standard. You can't talk about it being dangerous for an e-car to break down with an empty battery.

"A breakdown service on electric cars may only be carried out by persons who are trained and qualified to do so. This requires knowledge of the structure and function of the high-voltage system".

Thomas Kubin

Solid-state batteries as the way of the future

One topic that is shaping current research on electric vehicles is the solid-state battery. Various car manufacturers are investing in this technology and are hoping for a lot in the future. The main difference to the currently used lithium-ion batteries is the use of solid electrolytes. This makes a solid-state battery much less sensitive to impacts and other damage. At the moment, so-called dendrites are still frequently formed at one of the two poles in the laboratory. If these become too large, short circuits can occur. As soon as this problem is solved and a solid-state battery meets the high standards required for use in a vehicle, private consumers will also benefit from a lower production price compared to conventional batteries. A higher energy density, the resulting significantly increased range and a significantly lower fire risk are the goals for the future.

Conclusion

New technology is often accompanied by increased scepticism, but this is unfounded when it comes to e-cars and safety. While it is true that e-cars offer new challenges in many areas, there is no question of an increased risk compared to combustion engines. The most important thing for you as a driver is to familiarise yourself with your own vehicle. We can answer the question of whether an e-car is dangerous with a "no". 

If you have any further questions, please feel free to write to us at frag@umschalten.de!

Print article
A contribution by Marcel Duparré

Share post

Our guide

to switch

Everything you need to know about funding,
costs, best practice and more ...

Our guide

to switch

Everything you need to know about funding,
costs, best practice and more ...

Imprint

Data protection

Sicherheit in der Elektromobilität: Ist ein E-Auto gefährlich oder besteht kein Unterschied zum Verbrenner?

  •  

  •  

Lesedauer: 6 Minuten
Beitragsbild umschalten Beitrag Sicherheit in der Elektromobilität

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Mit steigendem Interesse am Kauf eines E-Autos steigt auch das Interesse an deren Sicherheit. Besonders in den Medien werden E-Auto Unfälle und Brände dabei immer wieder groß diskutiert. Für die Einzelperson ist es auf die Schnelle oft schwierig einzuschätzen, ob der mediale Fokus berechtigt oder einfach dem gesteigerten Interesse an einer neuen Technologie zuzuschreiben ist. Zu diesem Zweck wollen wir einen genauen Blick auf die potenziellen Risiken eines E-Autos werfen. Wir haben uns an Thomas Kubin, Techniker beim ADAC Sachsen gewandt, der uns mit seiner Expertise zur Seite stand. Ist ein E-Auto gefährlich oder können Sie sich guten Gewissens nach Ihrem Traumwagen umschauen?

E-Auto gefährlich? Experte Thomas Kubin Techniker des ADAC Sachsen

Thomas Kubin, Techniker des ADAC Sachsen

Wie sicher sind Elektroautos bei einem Unfall?

Niemand geht davon aus, demnächst in einen Unfall involviert zu sein, doch manchmal liegt das gar nicht in der eigenen Hand. Auch der beste und vorsichtigste Autofahrer kann in einer unliebsamen Situation landen. Sollten es zu so einem Unfall kommen, ist es wichtig, über die Höhe des Gefahrenpotenzials des eigenen Gefährts informiert zu sein. Auch manches schon angeeignetes Wissen könnte auf E-Autos nicht mehr genau so zutreffen wie auf Verbrenner.

Gefahr Brand – Herausforderung für die Feuerwehr

Eine der medial am weitest verbreiteten Gefahren in Bezug auf E-Autos ist die eines Brandes. Die Medienpräsenz ist so groß, dass sogar der Deutsche Feuerwehrverband eine Pressemitteilung dazu abgab. Darin wird erklärt, dass ein brennendes E-Auto zwar eine andere und etwas schwierigere Herausforderung darstelle als der Brand eines Verbrenners, aber durchaus löschbar sei. Interessant ist auch die Angabe, dass ein gasbetriebenes Fahrzeug noch viel schwieriger zu löschen ist. Auch das Abstellen in der Garage soll kein Problem sein. Solange es sich um eine baurechtskonform errichtete Garage und eine zertifizierte Ladeeinrichtung handelt, sieht der Deutsche Feuerwehrverband keinen Grund zur Sorge. Mehr zu diesem Thema finden Sie in unserem Artikel „Ladestation in der Tiefgarage: Risiko Brandschutz?“.

„Natürlich wird der Brand eines E-Autos durch mediale Berichterstattung wesentlich mehr thematisiert als der Brand eines herkömmlichen Fahrzeuges. Versuche haben auch ergeben, dass Insassen im Falle eines Brandes genauso viel Zeit haben, das Fahrzeug zu verlassen, wie bei Fahrzeugen mit Verbrennungsmotoren. Eine Explosion der Antriebsbatterie (Lithium-Ionen-Akku) kann mit an Sicherheit grenzender Wahrscheinlichkeit ausgeschlossen werden.“

Thomas Kubin

Gefahr Batterie – Hochvoltanlage

Ein wichtiger Aspekt, den Sie als Neubesitzer eines Elektroautos beachten sollten, ist die verbaute Hochvolttechnik. Wenn Sie ein leidenschaftlicher Schrauber sind, der gerne mal bei kleinen Reparaturen selbst Hand anlegt, sollten Sie das bei Ihrem E-Auto lieber sein lassen. Durch den sehr starken Strom, der für das Elektrofahrzeug benötigt wird, ist Fachpersonal von Nöten. Sie müssen natürlich nicht generell Angst davor haben, einen elektrischen Schlag zu bekommen, wenn Sie Ihr Auto anfassen, aber gerade bei unfallbedingten Pannen oder kleineren Schäden sollte auf die Meinung eines Experten zurückgekommen werden.

Künstliche Geräusche als Vorsichtsmaßnahme für andere Verkehrsteilnehmer

Da Elektrofahrzeuge bei niedriger Geschwindigkeit sehr geräuscharm, fast schon geräuschlos unterwegs sein können, hat die Europäische Union die Verordnung erlassen, dass ab dem 01.07.2021 alle geräuscharmen Fahrzeuge mit einem sogenannten „Fahrzeug-Warngeräusch-Generator“, oder AVAS (im Englischen Acoustic Vehicle Alert System) ausgestattet sein müssen. Das System muss bei Geschwindigkeiten von 0 bis 20 km/h permanent eingeschaltet sein und ermöglicht so anderen Straßenteilnehmern, nicht von dem stillen Fahrzeug überrascht zu werden. Ab 20 km/h ist der künstliche Sound für E-Autos nicht mehr nötig, da die Abrollgeräusche der Reifen den Klang eines Soundgenerators oder herkömmlichen Motors übertönen. Für Sie als Fahrer ändert sich bei einem ab dem 01.07.21 neu zugelassenen Fahrzeug nichts. Bei älteren elektrischen Gebrauchtwagen ohne AVAS müssen Sie beim Fahren bei niedriger Geschwindigkeit besonders gut aufpassen. Eine allgemeine Pflicht AVAS nachzurüsten, gibt es derzeit noch nicht. Allerdings können Sie durch eine solche Nachrüstung die Sicherheit für andere Verkehrsteilnehmer erheblich erhöhen und somit auch die eigene Unfallgefahr minimieren. Das BAFA sieht das genauso und fördert das Nachrüsten eines AVAS unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen mit 100€. Informieren Sie sich, ob Ihr Modell für die Förderung in Frage kommt!

Ist ein Autopilot im Verbrenner oder E-Auto gefährlich?

Eins vorweg: So schön vollkommen autonomes Fahren theoretisch klingen mag, ist der Einsatz im Alltag noch weit entfernt. Natürlich gibt es erste Pilotprojekte, von der Zulassung auf deutschen Straßen können wir aber noch lange nicht sprechen. Vorhandene Beispiele wie der Tesla „Autopilot“ sind eher mit einer funktionsreichen Fahrassistenz zu vergleichen. Solche Fahrassistenten gibt es zudem auch in herkömmlichen Verbrennern, es handelt sich also keineswegs um ein E-Auto-spezifisches Phänomen. Wenn wir also über das Thema E-Auto Sicherheit sprechen, können wir guten Gewissens Entwarnung geben. Der Fahrer ist weiterhin so konstant in den Fahrprozess involviert, dass von der Technik definitiv keine zusätzliche Gefahr ausgeht. Und wer sehnsüchtig darauf wartet, muss sich noch in Geduld üben.

Was müssen Sie bei einem Unfall beachten?

Welche Vorkehrungen sollte man für den Fall der Fälle schon vorab treffen? Die Gefahr, die von der Hochvoltanlage ausgeht, gilt auch für die Helfer bei einer Bergung. Eine gute Idee ist es daher, die für Ihr Fahrzeugmodell passende Rettungskarte des ADAC auszudrucken und im Fahrzeug aufzubewahren. Zwar müssen die elektrischen Komponenten eines E-Autos eigensicher sein, also sich automatisch bei Beschädigung im Zuge eines Unfalls vom Stromkreis trennen, ein eigenes Arbeiten am Elektrofahrzeug ist aber nach wie vor keine gute Idee, dort ist ein E-Auto gefährlich. Verlassen Sie sich lieber auf Sachverständige.

Crashtest Elektroauto: Alles beim Alten

Die Ergebnisse von Elektrofahrzeugen bei den von Euro NCAP durchgeführten Crashtests sind laut ADAC vollkommen normal. So gibt es Modelle wie den VW ID.3, den Jaguar I-Pace oder den Tesla Model 3 die alle die vollen fünf Sterne erreichten, aber auch Modelle wie den Dacia Spring oder den Renault Zoe die mit einem oder keinem Stern im neusten Test durchgefallen sind. Wie immer lohnt sich die gründliche Recherche vor dem Kauf eines Fahrzeugs.

E-Auto oder Verbrenner, was ist sicherer?

Festhalten können wir, dass es keine signifikanten Unterschiede bei der Sicherheit im Vergleich zu Verbrennern gibt. Eigentlich kaum überraschend, so gelten die gleichen hohen Sicherheitsstandards von herkömmlichen Verbrennern auch für Elektrofahrzeuge. Die neue Technologie bringt ihre eigenen Herausforderungen mit sich, diesen sollten Sie sich bewusst sein. Genau wie bei Verbrenner auch sind Sie mit der richtigen Vorbereitung auf den Fall der Fälle bestens aufgestellt. 

„Der Betrieb von Millionen Verbrenner-Fahrzeugen ist seit Jahrzehnten weitgehend sicher. Warum sollten Ingenieure den sicheren Betrieb von Elektroautos nicht hinbekommen?“

Thomas Kubin

Zahlt die Versicherung im Schadensfall?

Ja, das tut sie. Ein E-Auto ist mit Abschluss einer Versicherung genauso geschützt wie ein Verbrenner auch. Laut Allianz übernimmt zudem die Haftpflichtversicherung des KFZ-Versicherers den Schaden an der Garage, wenn ein Elektrofahrzeug brennt und diese beschädigt. Im Zuge ihres Artikels bestätigt die Allianz außerdem unsere schon aufgeführten Ergebnisse zum Thema E-Auto Sicherheit und Crashtest Elektroauto ein weiteres Mal und kommt zum selben Ergebnis wie wir.

Pannenhilfe bei E-Autos – Was tun bei leerer Batterie?

Die Batterie bei einem E-Auto leer zu fahren, ist eine besonders schwere Herausforderung. Noch lange bevor man liegen bleibt, schlagen die Warnsysteme in allen Elektrofahrzeugen an. Die meisten kennen sogar die Lage aller umliegenden Ladesäulen und leiten direkt zu diesen weiter. Sollten Sie es dennoch schaffen, die Batterie komplett leer zu fahren, gibt es mehrere Möglichkeiten, wie Ihnen geholfen werden kann. Als Erstes wäre die ADAC Pannenhilfe oder die Pannenhilfe Ihres Herstellers zu nennen. Viele Hersteller bieten vor allem in den ersten Jahren kostenlose Unterstützung. Auch am ADAC ist der Elektromobilitätsaufschwung nicht unbemerkt vorbeigegangen, auch hier finden Sie Hilfe. Eine wichtige Zusatzinformation für Sie als Fahrer: Falls Sie in Zukunft ein Auto mit der Möglichkeit zum bidirektionalen Laden fahren, könnten Sie im Notfall sogar von einem anderen E-Auto mit Energie versorgt werden. Der Sono Sion soll dieses Feature beispielsweise serienmäßig verbaut haben. Davon reden, dass es bei einem E-Auto gefährlich ist mit leerer Batterie liegen zu bleiben, kann man nicht.

„Eine Pannenhilfe an Elektroautos darf nur von Personen durchgeführt werden, welche dafür ausgebildet und qualifiziert sind. Hierfür sind Kenntnisse über den Aufbau und die Funktion des Hochvoltsystems erforderlich.“

Thomas Kubin

Festkörper-Akkus als Weg in die Zukunft

Ein Thema, das die aktuellen Forschungen rund um das Thema Elektrofahrzeuge prägt, ist der Festkörper-Akku. Diverse Automobilhersteller investieren in diese Technologie und erhoffen sich für die Zukunft einiges. Der Hauptunterschied zu den momentan gebräuchlichen Lithium-Ionen-Akkus ist der Einsatz fester Elektrolyten. Dadurch ist ein Festkörper-Akku deutlich unempfindlicher gegenüber Stößen und sonstigen Beschädigungen. Momentan bilden sich im Labor noch häufig sogenannte Dendriten an einem der beiden Pole. Wenn diese zu groß werden, kann es zu Kurzschlüssen kommen. Sobald dieses Problem gelöst ist und sich ein Festkörper-Akku den hohen Standards gerecht wird, die beim Einsatz in einem Fahrzeug angesetzt werden, profitieren Privatverbraucher zudem von einem geringeren Produktionspreis im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Akkus. Eine höhere Energiedichte, die daraus resultierenden deutlich erhöhten Reichweiten und dazu eine noch signifikant geringere Brandgefahr sind die ausgegebenen Ziele für die Zukunft.

Fazit

Mit neuer Technologie geht häufig verstärkte Skepsis einher, beim Thema E-Auto und Sicherheit ist sie allerdings unbegründet. Zwar stimmt es, dass E-Autos neue Herausforderungen in vielen Bereichen bieten, von einem gesteigerten Risiko im Vergleich zu Verbrennern kann aber keine Rede sein. Wichtig für Sie als Fahrer ist vor allem, sich mit dem eigenen Fahrzeug vertraut zu machen. Die Frage ob ein E-Auto gefährlich ist, können wir mit einem Nein beantworten. 

Sollten Sie weitere Fragen haben, schreiben Sie uns gerne unter frag@umschalten.de!

Artikel drucken
Ein Beitrag von Marcel Duparré

Beitrag teilen

Unser Leitfaden

zum Umschalten

Alles was Sie wissen müssen über Förderungen,
Kosten, Best Practice und mehr …

Unser Leitfaden

zum Umschalten

Alles was Sie wissen müssen über Förderungen,
Kosten, Best Practice und mehr …

Impressum

Datenschutz